Former Viking Doleman Announces The Rudolph Pick

Posted by Ryan Cardinal on April 30, 2011 – 9:35 am

As was the case for all second round picks during this year’s Draft, a former player from each team announced the selection at Radio City Music Hall in New York City.  The Vikings were lucky enough to have Chris Doleman, and eight-time Pro Bowler who played the bulk of his career in purple, in the Big Apple to announce the pick of Notre Dame TE Kyle Rudolph.  Click here to view the video of Doleman making the pick.

Tags: , ,
Posted in All | 2 Comments »

A Couple Things To Watch Over The Weekend

Posted by Mike Wobschall on February 3, 2011 – 8:02 am

The Vikings aren’t playing in the Super Bowl on Sunday but that doesn’t mean Minnesota football fans are left with nothing to anticipate. One current Viking and two former Vikings are up for important awards/honors over the weekend.

Former Vikings WR Cris Carter and DE Chris Doleman are two of 17 finalists for induction into the Pro Football Hall of Fame. The Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 2011 will be announced live on NFL Network on Saturday, February 5. The unveiling of the class will be made during a 90-minute special, Road to Canton: Hall of Fame Announcement Show: Class of 2011 presented by Van Heusen/JC Penney. The program airs live starting at 7 p.m. ET (6 p.m. CT)

S Madieu Williams joins Oakland Raiders CB Nnamdi Asomugha and Bears DE Israel Idonije as finalists for the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award. The winner of the award will be announced live on FOX before Super Bowl XLV.

Be sure to tune into the coverage of both announcements to see if these Vikings will be recognized for achievements they certainly deserve.

Tags: , ,
Posted in All, Mike Wobschall | 70 Comments »

Former Vikings Carter, Doleman Among 15 HOF Finalists

Posted by Mike Wobschall on January 10, 2011 – 10:50 am

Congratulations go out to former Vikings Cris Carter and Chris Doleman for being named among the 15 modern-era players named as finalists for induction into the Pro Football Hall of Fame. The 15 finalists, plus senior nominees Chris Hanburger and Les Richter, will be considered for induction February 5, the day before the Super Bowl. The enshrinement is in August.

Do you think Carter and/or Doleman are worthy of selection into the Pro Football Hall of Fame? Let us know by voting on the fan poll, which is located on the home page of You can also utilize the comments section below this entry to let your voice be heard.

Both Carter and Doleman are deserving of entry into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in my eyes because both players were dominant players at their respective positions for a long time. I actually think both players will get into the HOF, it’s just a matter of when. Carter has been a finalist previously and this is Doleman’s first year as a finalist.

To be elected, a finalist must receive a minimum positive vote of 80 percent of the 44 voters.

Carter, in my estimation, had the best pair of hands in NFL history and was the identity of the Vikings offense from 1990-2001. He holds Vikings career records for receptions, receiving yards and TDs and at the time of his retirement he ranked 2nd in career receptions and receiving TDs. Carter had 130 career TD catches and also recorded back-to-back 122-reception seasons. He was known for acrobatic, sideline-grabs and also for his knack of picking up 1st downs when his team needed it most. Carter also played for the Philadelphia Eagles (1987-89) and the Miami Dolphins (2002).

Doleman won 6 sack titles with the Vikings and tallied 150.5 in his career, which was 4th-best at the time of his retirement. His finest season came in 1989, when he led NFL with 21.0 sacks, 1.0 shy of the NFL single-season record at the time. In 1992, Doleman was named the NFC’s Defensive Player of the Year when he recorded 14.5 sacks. He played for the Vikings from (1985-93, 1999) and also spent time with the Atlanta Falcons (1994-95) and San Francisco 49ers (1996-98).

To learn more about Carter, Doleman and the entire group of finalists, go to the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s website.

The full group of finalists: Jerome Bettis, Tim Brown, Carter, Dermontti Dawson, Richard Dent, Doleman, Marshall Faulk, Charles Haley, Chris Hanburger, Cortez Kennedy, Curtis Martin, Andre Reed, Les Richter, Willie Roaf, Ed Sabol, Deion Sanders and Shannon Sharpe.

Tags: ,
Posted in All, Mike Wobschall | 36 Comments »