Vikings Hit The Road To Collect Hardware

Posted by Mike Wobschall on March 4, 2013 – 11:47 am

Adrian Peterson had already won and collected NFL MVP honors earlier this year. But Peterson’s sensational 2012 season continues to collect hardware.

This past weekend Peterson was in Atlantic City to collect The Maxwell Club’s Bert Bell Professional Player of the Year Award. It’s the second time he’s received the award (2008). Also this past weekend, Vikings Head Coach Leslie Frazier and Offensive Coordinator Bill Musgrave were in Kansas City to accept on Peterson’s behalf the NFL 101 award for NFC Offensive Player of the Year honors.

Peterson rushed his way into the history books in 2012, less than a year removed from a serious knee injury and grueling rehabilitation process. He finished the season with 2,097 yards rushing, the second-highest total in League history and just 9 yards shy of breaking Hall of Famer Eric Dickerson’s NFL record (2,105).

The historic season Peterson authored was instrumental in the Vikings generating the greatest single-season win increase in franchise history, going from 3 wins in 2011 to 10 wins in 2012 in addition to making the playoffs as a Wild Card team.

More on the Maxwell Club
The Maxwell Football Club is an organization involved not only in football at all levels but the community in general, not just once a year, but all year. It’s an organization dedicated to the concept that young people are the potential of this nation.  The Maxwell Football Club wants to help young people realize that potential as leaders now, and as the future leaders of this country.

More on the 101 Awards
Following each National Football League season, a civic organization called “The Committee of 101” hosts the 101 Awards, Kansas City’s Salute to Professional Football. This nationally-renowned event was initiated in 1969 by a group headed by Kansas City businessman Jack O. Wheeler to honor outstanding achievements in professional football. Each year, 101 members of the national media select the Offensive Player of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year and Coach of the Year in the American Football Conference and National Football Conference.

Tags: , ,
Posted in All, Mike Wobschall | 73 Comments »

Tentative Rookie Minicamp And OTA Schedule Set

Posted by Mike Wobschall on March 4, 2013 – 11:12 am

The Vikings have tentatively scheduled their rookie minicamp and Organized Team Activities (OTA). The dates are not yet official and are subject to change. Dates open to the media have not yet been determined.

Rookie mini-camp: Friday, May 3 – Sunday, May 5

OTAs #1-3: Tuesday, May 28 – Thursday, May 30

OTAs #4-6: Tuesday, June 4 – Thursday, June 6

OTAs #7-10: Monday, June 10 – Thursday, June 13

Mandatory Minicamp: Tuesday, June 18 – Thursday, June 20

Posted in All, Mike Wobschall | 8 Comments »

Vikings Announce Coaching Staff Moves

Posted by Mike Wobschall on March 4, 2013 – 10:28 am

Vikings Head Coach Leslie Frazier has made two adjustments to his coaching staff – one is a position switch and the other is an addition.

The switch will be made by Ryan Ficken, who joined the Vikings staff in 2007 and was previously the assistant wide receivers coach. Ficken will now be the assistant special teams coordinator, replacing Chris White. Earlier in the offseason, White left the Vikings to accept a position at the University of Iowa.

The addition is Jeff Howard, who replaces Cam Turner as the Vikings Assstant to the Head Coach. Cameron Turner previously held the position but left this offseason to join his father’s staff at Florida International University. Howard spent 2011-12 at Texas Tech as a graduate assistant, where he was the safeties coach and the defensive recruiting coordinator.

Tags: , ,
Posted in All, Mike Wobschall | 18 Comments »