Team Names Greenway, Peterson, Walsh MVPs

Posted by Mike Wobschall on January 10, 2013 – 1:21 pm

Vikings General Manager Rick Spielman met with reporters on Thursday and one of the disclosures he made was that the team voted on its MVPs. This has been an annual ritual for the team the past several seasons, with a MVP being named on defense, offense and special teams. The awards are  voted on by Vikings coaches and players.

Chad Greenway was named the defensive MVP, Adrian Peterson was named the offensive MVP and Blair Walsh was named the special teams MVP. Greenway and Peterson recorded career-highs in tackles and rushing yards, respectively, and Walsh was arguably the NFL’s best kicker.

Spielman also said the team would announce its rookie of the year in April following this year’s draft at a special event. Who would you vote for as the Vikings Rookie of the Year for 2012? Let us know by leaving your thoughts in the comments section below this entry.

Previous Team MVPs
2006: Antoine Winfield, Chester Taylor, Heath Farwell
2007: EJ Henderson, Adrian Peterson, Heath Farwell
2008: Kevin Williams, Adrian Peterson, Ryan Longwell
2009: Jared Allen, Brett Favre, Ryan Longwell
2010: Chad Greenway, Adrian Peterson, Chris Kluwe
2011: Jared Allen, Percy Harvin, Eric Frampton

Tags: , , , , , ,
Posted in All, Mike Wobschall | 160 Comments »

Vikings Named Presenting Sponsor Of 2013 “Honoring Legends-Inspiring Leaders” Awards Event

Posted by Mike Wobschall on January 10, 2013 – 9:45 am

The Minnesota Chapter of the National Football Foundation announced today that the Vikings will be the Presenting Sponsor of the 2013 “Honoring Legends-Inspiring Leaders” Awards Event. This prestigious event honors outstanding individuals in Minnesota football, including legendary figures and the state’s top scholar athletes.

“The Vikings are honored to partner with The National Football Foundation on their awards dinner,” said Vikings General Manager Rick Spielman. “We look forward to the event that honors the best in football at all levels in Minnesota and recognizes leadership off the field.”

“We are thrilled to partner with the Minnesota Vikings as our 2013 presenting sponsor,” said Sean Gothier, President of the Minnesota Chapter of the National Football Foundation. “This natural alliance will build upon the strong momentum of the Minnesota Chapter and the deep roots of the Minnesota Vikings.”

This year will mark the sixth year of the Minnesota Chapter of the National Football Foundation’s annual awards event. In previous years, the annual dinner has attracted some of the biggest names in Minnesota football and is considered one of the premier football events in the state. The event will be held at the University of St. Thomas on Sunday, April 28. For more event information please visit

About the Minnesota Chapter of the National Football Foundation:
Established and chartered in 2007, the Minnesota Chapter of the National Football Foundation has been recognized as one of the fastest growing chapters in the nation.  The mission of the Minnesota Chapter of the National Football Foundation is to serve Minnesota and the nation by developing leadership, sportsmanship, competitive spirit, and academic excellence in America’s youth through promoting amateur football.  For more information please visit

Posted in All, Mike Wobschall | 37 Comments »

Vikings Sign Punter Conley And DB/Returner McCoy To Futures Contracts

Posted by Mike Wobschall on January 10, 2013 – 7:31 am

The Vikings 2012 season ended last Saturday night, and the front office has wasted no time in getting moving on building the roster for 2013.

Earlier in the week, the Vikings signed 8 players who were on the practice squad at season’s end to Reserve/Future Free Agent contracts. And then on Wednesday, the Vikings signed another pair of players to futures contracts.

Wednesday’s acquisitions were P T.J. Conley and CB Greg McCoy.

Conley played college football at the University of Idaho and was an undrafted free agent in 2009. He joined the NY Jets from 2009-2011 and was a free agent in 2012. He was the Jets starting punter in 2011, the only year he recorded statistics, and in that season he punted 92 times in 16 games for a gross average of 42.7 and a net average of 38.8. None of his punts were blocked and none were returned for TDs, while 32 of them landed inside the 20 and 32 were returned for an average of 7.5 yards.

McCoy was a 7th-round pick of the Chicago Bears out of TCU in 2012 and was cut on final cutdown day heading into the regular season. He spent time on the Arizona Cardinals practice squad. McCoy had 7 INTs in 51 career college games at TCU and he was named his conference’s special teams player of the year in his final season after averaging 30.6 yards per return and scoring 2 TDs on 37 kickoff return attempts.

The other 8 players signed to Reserve/Future Free Agent contracts by the Vikings this past week are: DT Chase Baker, RB Joe Banyard, TE LaMark Brown, DB Bobby Felder, TE Chase Ford, G Tyler Holmes, OT Kevin Murphy and WR Chris Summers.

Tags: ,
Posted in All, Mike Wobschall | 69 Comments »