Peterson, Rudolph Doubtful; Harvin, Shiancoe Questionable

Posted by Mike Wobschall on November 25, 2011 – 2:19 pm

RB Adrian Peterson was not able to practice on Friday – nor was he able to practice on Wednesday or Thursday - and the Vikings have listed him as doubtful for Sunday’s game in Atlanta. Also listed as doubtful for Sunday’s game on the Vikings side is TE Kyle Rudolph, who is dealing with a quad injury.

S Husain Abdullah (concussion), CB Chris Cook (not injury-related) and RG Anthony Herrera (knee) have been ruled out. DL Christian Ballard (hamstring), LB Erin Henderson (hamstring), LT Charlie Johnson (achilles), QB Christian Ponder(knee) and S Jamarca Sanford (shoulder) are listed as probable.

For the Falcons, CB Kelvin Hayden (toe) is out. T Sam Baker (back), CB Brent Grimes (knee) and DT Vance Walker (groin) are listed as questionable. DE John Abraham (not injury-related), G Justin Blalock (ankle), TE Tony Gonzalez (not injury-related), WR Julio Jones (hamstring), LB Curtis Lofton (ankle), C Todd McClure (not injury-related), S William Moore (quad) and DT Corey Peters (knee) are listed as probable.

Posted in All, Mike Wobschall | 82 Comments »

Cris Carter, Chris Doleman Named Semifinalists For HOF Class Of 2012

Posted by Mike Wobschall on November 25, 2011 – 10:23 am

Two former Vikings teammates are among the 26 semifinalists being considered for the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 2012. Cris Carter and Chris Doleman, teammates in Minnesota from 1990-93, ’99, are among a deep class of semifinalists for inclusion in next year’s class. Both Carter and Doleman were also semifinalists and finalists a year ago.

To view a list of the semifinalists, click here.

The Hall of Fame’s Selection Committee chose the 26 semifinalists from the previously announced list of 105 preliminary nominees. The list of 26 semifinalists will be reduced by mail ballot to 15 modern-era finalists (plus 2 nominees from the Seniors Committee), with an announcement of the finalists to come in early January 2012.

The final step comes on February 4, 2012, when the 44-member Selection Committee meets in person to discuss and evaluate the merits of each of the 15 modern-era and the two senior candidates. An independent accounting firm tallies the voting that day to determine the new class of enshrinees.

Although there is no set number of Enshrinees for any Hall of Fame Class, the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s current ground rules do stipulate that between four and seven new members will be selected each year. No more than 5 modern-era nominees can be elected in a given year.

Tags: ,
Posted in All | 30 Comments »