Voting Is Now Open For The Defensive Play Of The Year

Posted by Ryan Cardinal on April 1, 2010 – 10:07 am

Before we look at the Defensive Play of the Year candidates, let’s quickly take a look back at the voting for the Special Teams Play of the Year, which wrapped up yesterday.

As expected, rookie Percy Harvin claimed the award, though in terms of which of Harvin’s 2 kick return TDs last season won the award, the voting was as close as could be.  Both his returns — one vs. the 49ers and the other against the Steelers — accounted for 43 percent of the vote, but the return vs. San Francisco won out by just a handful of votes.  As we said in the article, the odds of Harvin dominating this category for several years are pretty high.

Now we move onto the Defensive Play of the Year voting.  Despite the fact that the Vikings defense was solid last year, they only scored one defensive TD (a Jared Allen fumble recovery against the Rams) and didn’t have a bunch of highlight reel-type plays, especially in contrast with the offense.

Fans can view the nominees in full here, watch a highlight video of the nominees here, and then head over to the homepage to cast your vote via the fan poll which is located in the bottom-right part of the page.

Next week, the voting for the Offensive Play of the Year will commence, and it’s tough to envision anything other than Brett Favre’s TD pass to Greg Lewis vs. the 49ers claiming said award, though plays such as Adrian Peterson’s TD romp against the Browns in the season-opener and Sidney Rice’s game-tying TD grab in Chicago against the Bears will certainly give the Favre-to-Lewis connection a run for its money.

Tags: , , , ,
Posted in All | 3 Comments »

3 Responses to “Voting Is Now Open For The Defensive Play Of The Year”

  1. By PurpleNurple on Apr 1, 2010 | Reply

    Personally I liked AP’s Brownie Romp better. It was awesome watching him toss those cupcakes all over the field while racing into the endzone. I really thought we were going to see plays like that from Adrian all year long, but unfortunately that was not the case.

  2. By Patrick on Apr 2, 2010 | Reply

    Correction note: The fumble return for touchdown by Jared Allen was against the Rams.

  3. By guest on Apr 4, 2010 | Reply

Post a Comment