Hutchinson, Kevin Williams Named To All-Decade Team

Posted by Mike Wobschall on February 1, 2010 – 1:38 pm

Both G Steve Hutchinson and DT Kevin Williams were named to the NFC’s Pro Bowl squad this year, an honor that recognizes them as among the conference’s best players in 2009.

But this week Hutchinson and Williams were also named to the NFL’s All-Decade Team, an honor that distinguishes them as among the NFL’s best players at their position over the past 10 years.

A couple of former Vikings – WR Randy Moss and S Darren Sharper – were also included on the 2000s All-Decade Team.

The NFL All-Decade teams are chosen every 10 years by the Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee members.  The 2000s will mark the 9th All-Decade team to be selected in NFL history.

Tags: ,
Posted in All, Mike Wobschall | 9 Comments » Mailbag Is Posted

Posted by Mike Wobschall on February 1, 2010 – 11:11 am

Today’s Mailbag feature is posted. You can read it by clicking here.

If you have a comment or question you’d like posted in next week’s mailbag feature, send an email to me at

We’ll post the mailbag each Monday during the offseason. Remember to include your name and town on all emails. We can’t post every question/comment but we’ll respond to each question.

Posted in All, Mike Wobschall | 24 Comments »

AFC Outlasts NFC In Pro Bowl Shootout

Posted by Mike Wobschall on February 1, 2010 – 8:33 am

A quartet of Vikings and 2 TD passes from Packers QB Aaron Rodgers was not enough for the NFC to claim its 3rd consecutive victory in the Pro Bowl, as the AFC came away from the annual all-star game with a 41-34 victory at Sun Life Stadium in South Florida on Sunday.

Houston Texans QB Matt Schaub, who went 13 of 17 for 189 yards and 2 TDs, was the game’s MVP. He hooked up with teammate Andre Johnson for a 33-yard score in the 1st quarter and then later in the 1st quarter also found Broncos WR Brandon Marshall for a 23-yard score.

Another pair of WRs also had impressive performances. For the NFC, Philadelphia Eagles WR DeSean Jackson had 6 grabs for 101 yards and 2 TDs while San Diego Chargers WR Vincent Jackson had 7 receptions for 122 yards and 1 TD.

Adrian Peterson carried the ball just 3 times on the evening but gained 17 yards and also had 1 reception for 5 yards. G Steve Hutchinson played the entire game, as did DE Jared Allen and LB Heath Farwell. Allen finished with 4 tackles and Farwell had a pair of special teams tackles.

T Bryant McKinnie, who earned his 1st Pro Bowl berth, did not play in the game after missing a pair of practices late in the week and then being removed from the NFC’s roster.

Tags: , ,
Posted in All, Mike Wobschall | 31 Comments »