Neal Broten – Today’s Honorary Viking

Posted by Mike Wobschall on January 3, 2010 – 11:06 am

Prior to each home game, one individual serves as an Honorary Viking and sounds the Gjallarhorn to signal the Vikings are coming. This person is usually a well-known and liked individual who also get a big ovation from the home crowd.

Although it’s obviously a football crowd, something tells me today’s Honorary Viking will get a HUGE ovation from the crowd – it’s legendary hockey player Neal Broten.

Broten played on the gold medal-winning Team USA hockey squad in the 1980 Winter Olympics and also in 1,099 NHL regular season games from 1981-1997 for the Minnesota North Star, Dallas Stars, New Jersey Devils and Los Angeles Kings. He is arguably the most accomplished Minnesota-born hockey player because he is the only player to have played on teams that won the NCAA hockey championship (University of Minnesota – 1979), the Olympic Gold Medal (Team USA – 1980) and the Stanley Cup (New Jersey Devils – 1995).

Broten was inducted into the United States Hockey Hall of Fame in 2000 and voted by Minnesota Wild fans as the greatest hockey player ever from the state in the Minnesota Hockey Greats contest announced in April 2009.

Posted in All, Mike Wobschall | No Comments »

Post a Comment