Vikings Vote On Team Awards

Posted by Mike Wobschall on December 26, 2009 – 4:38 pm

LB E.J. Henderson has been named the Vikings 2009 recipient of the Ed Block Courage Award.

The award is one of the NFL’s most prestigious and honors individuals who “exemplify commitment to the principles of sportsmanship and courage.” The award is voted on annually by the players of each NFL team. A player is selected as the recipient from each NFL team and then the 32 honorees attend the Ed Block Courage Awards in Baltimore, Maryland.

The Ed Block Courage Award Foundation is dedicated to improving the lives of neglected children and ending the cycle of abuse.

Henderson is a great choice by Vikings players because he battled back this year from a season-ending injury in 2008. In addition, Henderson is one of the most active Vikings in the local community. He established the E.J. Henderson Youth Foundation and has shown a commitment to helping youth in Minnesota.

Henderson was also named the 2009 Vikings Community Man of the Year earlier this season.

This past week the Vikings voted on other team awards as well, naming an MVP on defense, offense and special teams.

Vikings Head Coach Brad Childress shared with reporters on Wednesday the winners of those awards. They were:

Defensive MVP: Jared Allen
Offensive MVP: Brett Favre
Special Teams MVP: Ryan Longwell

Tags: , ,
Posted in All, Mike Wobschall | 3 Comments »

3 Responses to “Vikings Vote On Team Awards”

  1. By PAVikesFan on Dec 27, 2009 | Reply

    Agreed, but, would have voted Percy Harvin as the ST player of the year for our team, he’s changed a few games with his momentum on kick returns, Longwell has been really good but he hasnt kicked a clutch kick all year, also, Kenny Onatolu, #55, has been good on our ST’s this, as has Heath Farwell

  2. By Ginny on Dec 27, 2009 | Reply

    I wish there was a way that all our guys could win an MVP. What a great team. I’m so proud to be a fan.

  3. By PurplePeopleEater on Dec 27, 2009 | Reply

    I agree that it appears that other players deserve the MVP over Longwell. But as it sounds, these are awards that are voted on by the team, players and coaches alike. The team obviously knows just what everybody is putting into the game better than any of us, so I trust that their selections are well earned.

Post a Comment